CA - CPT : Course Structure Pattern

ICAICA (2006)CPTCourse Structure • Course Structure Pattern
CA CPT (Chartered Accountancy - Common Proficiency Test) is an objective type examination of 4 hours duration divided into 2 sessions of 2 hours each. Each session consists of two subjects with a total marks of 100. The examination is a multiple choice test with ¼ negative marking (proposed to be increased to ½).

Pass Marks

To pass/qualify at the examination a student has to obtain a minimum of 50% marks in all the papers together.

Re attempting

Failing to get the pass mark requires the student to reappear in all the papers again.

No Exemptions

There are no provisions for exemptions, even in conditions where the student has obtained high marks.

After 12th


Common Proficiency Test (CPT)


Integrated Professional Competence Course/Examination (IPCC/IPCE)

[13 subjects arranged into
two groups of 3 papers
of 100 marks each.]

Practical Training (Articleship)

Students are required to undergo 3½ years training (As an articled clerk with a practicing chartered accountant or as an audit clerk within the auditing department of an approved organisation).